ALTA Racks carry up to 6 bikes, accessories, and may work as a mobile base camp – Bike Rumor

"Thanks to the huge variation of bikes out there, we ask a lot from our bike racks. They need to fit everything from 20mm to 5″ wide tires, frames of vastly different shape, and all without interference between multiple bikes. Because of that, most racks top out at...

Alta Racks, Alta Six GPR Bike Rack – Mountain Biking with Kids

"We have been through our share of bike racks, so when we got the opportunity to demo the Alta Six GPR (general purpose rack) from Alta Racks, we had some high hopes. To qualify our expectations, here’s our family’s history of bike racks… Phase One, Pre-Kids: No bike...

Domestic rack makers favor Trump’s proposed tariffs – bicycleretailer.com

"When Ali Yazdian began planning his bike rack company about three years ago, he was determined to manufacture in the U.S., as much as possible near his home in the Salt Lake Valley. Yazdian largely succeeded, publicly launching Alta Racks — named for the ski town 8...

Photo Epic: Black Sage FEST 2018 – pinkbike.com

"Black Sage might be the flowiest stop of the FEST Series. The crew came to town in early May to start sampling the course built by organizers Kyle Jameson & Carson Storch. After a week of sessions and good times, the Oregon Dirt Park was opened to spectators for...

Review From pinkbike.com

"I've had my rack for a little over a month now, and the one phrase that I would use to describe the rack is nuke proof! Based out of Salt Lake City the team from Alta racks refers to the rack as a 4 season general purpose rack and rightfully so with features and...

See What People are Saying About Alta Racks

ALTA SIX Bike Rack

Repair Stand

Floor Stand

Facebook Reviews

Alta Racks
5.0
Based on 13 reviews
powered by Facebook
Andy Hofmeister
Andy Hofmeister
2019-07-12T03:29:27+0000
Best buying experience ever. Customer oriented from beginning to end. Love Love Love the rack.
Dwight Rouse
Dwight Rouse
2019-05-25T03:31:00+0000
Alta Racks are the best built racks in the business and Made in the USA. Dont settle for anything less!!
Jay Martini
Jay Martini
2019-02-12T02:36:45+0000
The racks are possibly the best out there and very versatile.
Conner VanSkiver
Conner VanSkiver
2019-02-12T01:58:54+0000
well made racks built locally, and hold up very well. Used mine for about a year now and it holds up to all the abuse I... can dish out.read more
Billy Darcy Ramsey
Billy Darcy Ramsey
2019-02-12T00:25:02+0000
Used a few different style racks in my life and was really never satisfied until I used Alta, no hassle, damage or... worries and the accessories really add that extra touch!!read more
Alta Rider
Alta Rider
2019-02-12T00:10:34+0000
Liz Ramirez
Liz Ramirez
2018-09-28T19:17:40+0000
The rack is perfectly suited for a high clearance 4x4 off road vehicle. It Works with our 96 Toyota Land Cruiser clam... shell style rear hatch. It's pretty stout and heavier than its competitor but we needed the higher clearance of the rack that the Alta provides. We are running a 4 basket carrier system and just drove over 5 hours to Moab for camping and took a long washboard road and found one of the tire baskets rubbed the sidewall causing thinning to the front tire. I wish it had an anterior loop on the vertical bar to wrap a chain through to lock the bikes up. There is a bolt on the front side of the arm mechanism that requires additional hardware to remove it in order to fully extend the bike rack away from the rear hatch. Without it fully extended down I have found that I hit my legs on the butterfly bolts protruding from the bottom rail that attaches the rear tire. So far we like the rack but wish there was an easier way to fully extend it down for use when camping.read more
Brad Van Pelt
Brad Van Pelt
2018-08-28T18:58:36+0000
Very well made! Best rack I’ve seen that can hold 6 bikes. The rack has been serving me well all summer. I highly... recommend these racks.read more
Thomas Bracken
Thomas Bracken
2018-08-21T20:04:17+0000
This rack is awesome. It's super stable and genuinely (easily) fits 6 bikes with no rubbing. The best part of the Alta ... Six is that it clears the tailgate of my Tacoma easily (even in the vertical position), so it's never in the way.read more
Jimmy John
Jimmy John
2018-07-12T19:15:01+0000
I recently purchased/found the rack by accident! I was going to buy a Recon but they were out of stock. The owner of... Alta said “nothing is by accident” you will love our rack. It’s pretty nice. Holds downhill bikes, fatbikes, small bikes! My family is a cycling family. We own 14 bikes and we needed a versatile rack. This is it. I had some questions and concerns and the owner personally answered all my questions via phone. I was missing a strap and he promptly got it to me. I offered some suggestions for minor improvements and he said he loved the feedback. Being involved in a family business myself I like to support the small guy. The owner was great to deal with and he did everything he said he would. There are other shuttle style racks with reports of the bikes hitting the pavement. NOT A CHANCE WITH THIS RACK! It has multiple failsafes in the rack. Who wants 30k hitting the black top, I sure don’t! Ali, this is Jim - we spoke yesterday. Two thumbs up!read more
Leslie Jones Evans
Leslie Jones Evans
2017-10-22T21:24:00+0000
We just got back from Moab with the Alta Six on our Tacoma with a camper shell. I am sold! Being able to leave the... bikes on while unloading the truck/putting dogs in and out is pure bliss. No damage to the tailgate and the bikes stay solid. Thanks, Alta Racks ��read more
Bradley Roggman
Bradley Roggman
2017-10-19T07:23:52+0000
Super versatile! Works with all kinds of bikes. I can't wait to get one.
Kx Zakeri
Kx Zakeri
2017-10-18T22:30:08+0000
Excellent company. Would recommend their products to everyone!

Google Reviews

ALTA RACKS
4.9
Based on 13 reviews
powered by Google
Karson Fullmer
Karson Fullmer
19:55 25 Nov 19
I have been using this rack for about 6 months and all I can say is WOW!!! I spent 3 months researching different racks before going with ALTA RACKS. I started off with 4 baskets and upgraded to 5. The company makes it really easy to start small and upgrade as you go. With 5 bikes loaded down, I've taken it on some serious off-road trails to get to some sweet MTB trails. Never once have I been worried to load this thing down with fears that bikes will get damaged. At times, I've had bikes worth more than my truck on there. If you are looking for the 1 rack to do it all, THIS IS IT! Great investment for my bike and friends that shuttle with me. The owner is awesome to work with! Highly recommend if your are trying to keep your ride safe!
Landon Boogaard
Landon Boogaard
17:42 26 Aug 19
Ali is the man and the 6rack is amazing. I can’t recommend it enough!
Brodie Tyler
Brodie Tyler
16:19 08 Jul 19
Just received our bike rack. It is really heavy duty and will do the job of carrying all 6 of our bikes. The instructions were lacking a bit, so it took longer than it should have to put together. I'm not q big fan of how high it sits. My son is about 5' 9" and is still too short to load his bike. Although it's a good rack, I dont think it's worth the price tag. I definitely paid too much and should have gone with another brand. If they had retailers I could have seen it in person first and come to that decision before overpaying.
Eric
Eric
17:53 17 Jun 19
This is a fantastic rack! The quality and detailing is incredible.
sarah borduin
sarah borduin
22:38 02 Jun 19
We’ve been researching racks for at least 2 years for our family of 5. We needed an upright rack which was easy to load, good off road, could clear the back of our camper and swing out and accommodate different sized bikes. The Alta met all of our criteria. On our first trip to Utah from Montana, we added tie down straps to prevent bouncing on the more technical dirt roads. We also learned the importance of the brake-secure rubber bands to prevent rubbing brakes on neighboring bikes. Each member of the family is able to secure their bike. With our old rack, there was so much swearing, it really wasn’t a family friendly activity. We hauled 6 bikes easily to a 24 hour race recently. The rack, while swung out, provided a place to support bikes during the race. The rack became an area to organize the bikes instead of having them leaned against the truck. I’m thankful we ran across Alta. The customer support has also been very responsive.
Heidi Perdue
Heidi Perdue
20:24 31 May 19
This rack is amazing! Well built and sturdy. Love the extras- tie downs, storage rack for the garage, bike stand to work on bikes. A must for a big family ready for adventures.
Mark Erickson
Mark Erickson
03:30 17 Apr 19
I run a mountain bike shuttle company in St George and Moab called Mountain Bike Buddies and have transported bikes all day, every day for the past 15 years...sometimes riding three or four trails a day. The Alta Rack is by far the best rack I have ever used. I kid with my customers that for better or worse, it has extended my career at least five more years, because it is now so easy to load bikes. If you are serious about mountain biking, give Ali a call.
Eric Fonger
Eric Fonger
19:16 19 Dec 18
We have owned our Alta six for over a year now and have put it through the ringer while riding across Utah and Idaho! All I can say is this rack system is absolutely bomber! Ali is super easy to work with and very personable. He stands behind his work! The quality product you get with Alta Racks is worth the money! It will safely carry your bikes for for many years of adventures!
aaron pollard
aaron pollard
18:48 17 Oct 18
I've owned a lot of racks and this one by far provides best access to back of your rig and carries the most bikes safely. Not to mention its bomber...and Ali is legit and a pleasure to work with. Get one!
TUCKER CRIDDLE
TUCKER CRIDDLE
00:13 27 Sep 18
best rack ever!! very good deal on this rack. i love how nice he is when i went to get my rack. it is so nice!! thank you very much!
Aspen Criddle
Aspen Criddle
00:09 27 Sep 18
Everywhere I go, people stop me to ask where I got my bike rack. Nothing compares to this quality. It is solid and it, along with the bikes, do not move at all while I am driving. I have looked forever for a bike rack that could hold 6 bikes, and nothing else accommodated what I was looking for. They put a lot of thought into every detail of this bike rack and went above and beyond when helping me get this. It’s also nice because you don’t need to have 6 bikes on it all the time.
jim apodaca
jim apodaca
23:19 04 Jul 18
I purchased my rack about six months ago and I couldn't be more impressed with the way it functions and the numerous features. I normally carry six bikes but I also have two fat bikes and the two extra baskets makes it super easy to swap out. I love that I can drop my tail gate and get into the bed of my truck and when I use the rack on my minivan I can also open my back door. Customer service was amazing through Alta Racks from the initial purchase to delivery. Assembly was super easy, taking about 20 minutes, plus I love that there is no proprietary hardware. My opinion, best rack out there. You won't be disappointed.
Ryan Evans
Ryan Evans
18:31 25 Jun 18
The best bike rack I've used in over 30 years! I got this Alta Six rack to replace my Saris Freedom 4 rack and Yakima 2 tray hitch rack. IT HOLDS SIX BIKES!! I love everything about this rack. So nice that I leave it on for 8 months of the year and its not in the way like most hitch racks.. Plenty of clearance on my Tacoma to open shell and tailgate with the bikes on. Its also out of the way enough that we can camp out in back of truck, get in and out with bikes on. The only reason I've had to take off is if I had to put a 4'x8' sheet of wood in the back of truck. Sits high enough that I won't be hitting deep dips or rocks. Fits all my road bikes, big hit freeride bikes and even kids bikes with no problem. I know it has attachments for fat bikes which I have not used yet. Bikes load very easily with just putting the front wheel in the basket, then using the included Voile style straps to secure front and rear ties(can be done with one hand). There is a tilting option to make the bikes load even easier, but I tend to not use it . Might make easier for somebody shorter or for somebody who has a hard time lifting bikes straight up Rack is very solid on bumpy roads with an option to use tie downs if you're running six bikes and want little to no movement. I love the ability to carry six bikes, or just a few bikes with plenty of space in between I have tried the North Shore racks but did not like that it directly made contact with my fork and would not fit my road bike or kids bikes. There are some sweet accessories available like a bike work stand, table and even a hammock which I have not used yet. Overall, solid construction, well thought out, easy to use and I already cant imagine using my old racks again. This is the rack I've needed and been waiting for all my life. THANKS ALTA RACKS!!
See All Reviews